Tinnitus... anyone else got it?

Hey all...

I have tinnitus in my right ear from a few mistakes I made (turning on equipment during a mixing session without realizing a mic was on and turning on guitar amps with the volume all the way up.)

Yeah, I'm an idiot, and I'm only 18.
So basically I was wondering if there were any other people here with hearing disabilities and if they've learned to enjoy being an audiophile without becoming to self-aware of their hearing problems.

I'm just beginning to be an audiophile and I've noticed that I can hear the ringing in my ear more than ever after I listen to a really good pair of headphones.

Thanks,
rob

Maybe it dependes on what music you listen to but I sometimes
listen to music in headphones to make my tinnitus go away
at least for a while. My tinnitus is very much correlated to
how tired my brain is, though, and the right kind of music can
refresh the brain so it gets less tired and can mask the tinnitus,
or however it works.

I have a mild ringing in my ears from too much loud music... and I'm only 17!!! i'm exposed to at least a few hours of craninum crushing volumes a week, and now i've started developing a ringing, i use ear plugs a lot!!! even though people might feel uncool, they're gunna save your hearing... i'm afraid of what my hearings gunna do when i get older, because aparantly you don't get the full effects of what you did as a teen until you're older... but i'm not complaining, i know a few other people who got it bad...

For a start, i know the keyboard player out of an old 70's band called 'the models' (anyone else heard of them?)... he works in a studio in melbourne now, but he is almost completly deaf in one ear! this is because he always used to be right next to the drummer, and with only one ear facing, you can imagine what happened!!!