Audio College Education... - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Member Areas > The Lounge

The Lounge A place to talk about almost anything but politics and religion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 21st February 2004, 12:50 AM   #1
Paprika is offline Paprika  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Audio College Education...

Lets say I am a student, which I am a Junior in High school. Well I am very much interested at this time in going to college for electrical engineering, along with that I want to learn stuff about audio, amps, how to build them, and such stuff like that because maybe I want to design and build stereos...

What would I be looking for as far as major if not electrical engineering when it comes to designing speakers and such?
Old 21st February 2004, 01:27 AM   #2
SY is offline SY  United States
diyAudio Moderator

Physics. With that as your base, you can pick up whatever specialized knowledge you need to do just about anything technical.
Old 21st February 2004, 03:17 AM   #3
BrianGT is offline BrianGT  United States
diyAudio Moderator Emeritus

Send a message via AIM to BrianGT
Default Re: Audio College Education...

Quote:
Originally posted by Paprika
Lets say I am a student, which I am a Junior in High school. Well I am very much interested at this time in going to college for electrical engineering, along with that I want to learn stuff about audio, amps, how to build them, and such stuff like that because maybe I want to design and build stereos...

What would I be looking for as far as major if not electrical engineering when it comes to designing speakers and such?