Does SS power amp have advantage over tubes? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Member Areas > The Lounge

The Lounge A place to talk about almost anything but politics and religion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th October 2014, 01:54 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Does SS power amp have advantage over tubes?

I am new in audiophile, so excuse me if I offend anyone here. I am not trying to stir up trouble. I always though tube gives even harmonics that is more pleasing to the ears. BUT, I read quite a few posts here. Sounds like the main thing about sound quality is low distortion. Both here and SS forum here are saying the same thing, the lower the distortion, the better the transparency and bigger the sound stage. So I just look at the two approaches and here is my opinions:

1) By the nature of tubes that you only have equivalent of NPN or NMOSFET, it is already a clean disadvantage to SS design that they have complementary devices like PNP or PMOSFET. Lots of advantage to be have for cancelling distortion using complementary devices cannot be done with tubes.

2) Then tube circuit has to have OPT, one more source of distortion and reduce open loop gain because it is stepping down. Lower loop gain implies more distortion.

3) Then it is so much easier to get higher gain for SS stage. Gain of the tube is limited, triode has internal plate resistance that limit the gain. In feedback circuit, the higher the loop gain( not open loop gain), the lower the distortion. You can't get enough gain with 3 tube stages particularly the OT is going to reduce the voltage to lower the output impedance. Again, lower loop gain implies higher distortion.