Sound Quality Vs. Measurements

Status
Not open for further replies.
andrea_mori,
well, that`s not a nice loop. In a broader sense, there are many currents and voltages inside an entity beside the one you measure with the DVM, forming loops, for instance, hysteresis loop. Resistance is an opposing (negative) force (voltage) developing across a resistor and other elements. We can`t call everything a negative feedback.

Joined 2009
Paid Member
I think there's no benefit from those researches (unless you're a student, researcher or something). The bottleneck is not in the Science but in the human hearing threshold and that can be others or your own.

Well as a sound engineer i definetely see an interest in Blauert research when i want an effect or understand why there is thing like something on my lap or on the ground or.. but ok.

krivium,
beside the rectifying diodes, power supplies should consist of passive parts. Don`t blame the cathode resistor.

We have different approach and pov. I don't blame cathode resistor but i won't never tell something like 'should consist' without a context.

I mean regulation exist for good reason and in some case you can't do without- or a machine won't sound the same without: best example Fairchild 660/670 limiters which without their tube regulators ( yes a tube series regulator)...can't work!
Or a Urei 176/175 for which an OB2 (which IS a primitive form of shunt reg!) is used for the limiter/compressor part of the circuit, or the GZ34 used in place of diodes ( in place or because silicon wasn't good enough at the time).

I find some interesting properties ( and i like the sound) of shunt reg and even more when feed through a ccs ( keeping current return path under control have some advantages), why should i do without it? Because of some norm or because someone decided it is a sin?!