Sound Quality Vs. Measurements - Page 884 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Member Areas > The Lounge

The Lounge A place to talk about almost anything but politics and religion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th April 2013, 04:44 PM   #8831
dvv is offline dvv  Serbia
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by nigel pearson View Post
Has anyone tried a very long tail on a long tail pair ? If could be zener protected for start up . Put it up at 300 V . Only problem I can see is hiss . 150 K if 2 mA . Without doing the maths I guess the usual CCS to be superior ? The zener would be miles below operating in usual running .
What is a "very long tail pair"?

Could I trouble you for a jotted schematic?
Old 11th April 2013, 04:59 PM   #8832
diyAudio Member

Here's the three types of CCSs I have been using for the last 20+ years.

Frankly, I never could detect any sonic difference between B.) and C.), but Perhaps I never made an amp good enough to convey any possible differences. It's not like I built hundreds of them, less than 10 over the last 20 years.

I'm not saying these are the best there are, but I am saying that I reckon they are very good for the money.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf CCS circuits.pdf (33.0 KB, 28 views)
Old 11th April 2013, 06:26 PM   #8833
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvv View Post
What is a "very long tail pair"?

Could I trouble you for a jotted schematic?