diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   The Lounge (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/lounge/)
-   -   Advice needed but not if its not what I want to hear ! (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/lounge/200166-advice-needed-but-not-if-its-not-what-i-want-hear.html)

nigelwright7557 9th November 2011 08:35 PM

Advice needed but not if its not what I want to hear !

I find myself getting a little frustrated at times with people who ask for advice.

On a couple of occasions people have rubbished my advice becasue they had already decided it was something else, only to find out later i was quite right.

On a couple of occasions I have almost burst into an abusive reply but I value my membership of DIYAUDIO a bit more than that so refrain and unsubscribe from the thread.

On forums we cant see people and so dont always appreciate someones experience. I have 32 years experience of software and hardware design but do appreciate I will always be learning. It does hurt a little to get rubbished when I have put some effort into replying to someones disaster.

simon7000 9th November 2011 08:44 PM

Well what do you suggest to do about it? :)

DF96 9th November 2011 08:46 PM

I remember reading somewhere that one of the characteristics of wise people is that they recognise wise advice from others even when it is not what they hoped to hear. This statement has a converse, which I am sure you can work out.

nigelwright7557 9th November 2011 08:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by simon7000 (Post 2775782)
Well what do you suggest to do about it? :)

Absolutely nothing.

I usually charge 3000 a month for my advice and work so if its not accepted for free I dont lose out financially.
It just seemed a little sad.

simon7000 9th November 2011 08:54 PM

Well,

I charge $2000 per day for my time and get it. I pretty much will answer a decent question once. Sometimes they follow the advice and are surprised to see it works!