John Curl's Blowtorch preamplifier part II

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just the Corcom PEM. $5, and it has fuseholder, IEC, and switch built in. I don't measure power supplies (nor do I listen to them unless troubleshooting), I measure preamps and amps.

Never heard of it, probably a USA only company. And good power line filters do not necessarily have to be bulky and expensive.

When measuring anything audio, like it or not, you are measuring the PSU as well. Of what use is a great front end if fed by junk power?

This isn't gas, that's not a particularly good analogy. I use a simple Corcom line filter and my circuits are dead nuts quiet, enough so that visiting audiophiles often remark on that. The secrets are good power supply design, circuits with good PSR, and proper layout and grounding. No need for crutches.

Apparently it works well. Either I'm a genius designer or the concern is overblown.

Ladies and gentlemen , the Eagle has landed ........... :film:

Most scope users don't have that. If one blithely follows the original suggestion, the danger is extreme.

It's pretty easy to build your own low frequency differential probe at a low cost. It's just a divide by 100 (or 500) op amp with good common mode rejection, plastic case, battery operation, captive 10kV probe leads, captive BNC out.

Last edited:
diyAudio Senior Member
Joined 2002
Hi,

Regarding DNM slit foil caps:

I doubt any of you had the chance to do an A-B comparison.
Although it was about 20 years ago or thereabouts I once had the opportunity to participate in an A-B test comprising of a Naim amp with external PSU. One standard the other modded with DNM caps.
This was at one of the now defunct Hifi-Answers mag's shows BTW.

All I can say (and take it FWIW) is I was Wowed. The DNM capped supply was lightyears ahead of the standard one. So much cleaner and lifelike sounding.