John Curl's Blowtorch preamplifier part II

Status
Not open for further replies.
diyAudio Member RIP
Joined 2005
There's an interesting tacit implication there- that if one is familiar with and appreciative of the arts, one can be perfectly happy being irrational and/or accepting of intellectual dishonesty. Even CP Snow would balk at that one.
One of the most irritating attitudes of an ex-friend, an emeritus professor of music, was that I, because of being as engineer by profession, couldn't really be any good at the arts. This individual is quite neurotic, and irrational as it suits his needs, his ex-wife recently remarking as well that he was "the most self-centered person in the world".

But there is a persistent, pernicious, and mostly-nonsensical idea that artistic "genius" must entail neurosis or worse, sometimes extending to insistence that we give special accommodation to their erratic and even destructive behavior. Sorry, not going to cut it.

Last edited:
elektroj said:
Reading all this I am wondering - how many of you, guys, are friends with creative people? You know - painters, composers, fashion designers, actors ..
I'm not sure whether to laugh or cry! The most creative people I have known have been scientists and engineers; they understand and enjoy both the arts and the sciences. Their day job may be creating software or things, but in the evening they make music or write fiction. I know one engineer who at one time played timpani in a youth orchestra. I once knew another one who wrote (saleable) sci-fi. I knew a physicist who ran a small art gallery.