John Curl's Blowtorch preamplifier part II

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jan, think of my efforts to improve the phono system as a better way to handle potholes and speed bumps in an automobile. Automobile suspensions were an early design problem that took analog computers (with op amps) to emulate. This is how I think about the '2 stage' solution. At this very moment, I have an all IC phono stage in review at 'Stereophile'. And you talk to me about my avoiding IC op amps! Well, my $40,000 preamp is all discrete! ;-) Same basic topology as the IC version.

PMA said:
I do not intend to argue with amateurs.

Yeah, I'm not a professional. However a preamp I built several years back sent two preamps that achieved a class A rating in Stereophile packing. My dad loves nothing better than to tell me how much better his audiophile gear sounds than the stuff I build. But, he couldn't this time.

Yes I've built IC ( high speed video buffer ) based preamps that got displaced by my dad's audiophile gear. But, my discrete no global feedback preamp saved the day.

So, I'm kind of anti-op-amp or pro good overtones ... can't decide which yet. Maybe both.

Johnl, I appreciate your input, in any case. I could care less whether an op amp can be made that is almost perfect. I haven't found it yet, but I am still looking. Perhaps, the ADI op amp championed by Pavel will do the job. I HOPE SO, because I will change over to it immediately, if it does the trick. However, I will STILL use a 2 stage design. It just has too many advantages over a single OP AMP with RIAA compensation, that I used with the Levinson JC-2. Please note that the output stage is STILL weak, and has to be buffered. NOT GOOD.

Quote >
The exact schematic is essentially useless except to experts.

I do not intend to argue with amateurs.

This does not cut it for me you just lost quite a bit of points.

John Curl put in the challenge

5KHz on a phono stage with signal a full output.