John Curl's Blowtorch preamplifier part II - Page 3455 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Member Areas > The Lounge

The Lounge A place to talk about almost anything but politics and religion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 9th February 2013, 02:05 AM   #34541
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kindhornman View Post
Have you seen a schematic for the Blowtorch. ... Why don't you try and get your hands on some of the lessor JC products such .... I don't think that we could fault the build quality
JC was kind enough to post circuits for Blowtorch and JC2 Mk1 (which was panned by the reviewers).

I've had extensive hands on experience with a JC design which was only marginally stable on real speaker loads but JC immediately disowned it.

I'm fully appreciative of JC's obsession with build quality but I note he now disclaims responsibility for build quality and only takes responsibility for 'design'.

However, enclosures hand carved from solid BS/Unobtainium by virgins does not preclude the need for competent circuit design, decoupling, PCB layout, and following simple but important recommendations from manufacturers datasheets.

It is the lack of these basic but vital factors that are responsible for JC2 Mk1's poor performance and the likely failure of Blowtorch in Double Blind Listening Tests against a properly implemented 4558 design.

I accept the possibility that some of JC's designs might be OK and be indistinguishable from evil 4558 designs in DBLT bla bla. But not the above 2.

There has been much talk lately about Bybee's 'smoke screens' but please acknowledge the greatest BS / smoke screen merchant of all.

From a technical critique of Blowtorch, the discussion has shifted to esoteric discussions of a Quantum nature.

I note a determined attempt to provoke criticism of Hawkesford too.