John Curl's Blowtorch preamplifier part II - Page 2414 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Member Areas > The Lounge

The Lounge A place to talk about almost anything but politics and religion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 29th June 2012, 04:53 AM   #24131
diyAudio Member

Of experience. It might not be the 'best' word, but it is not far off.
Old 29th June 2012, 04:56 AM   #24132
diyAudio Member

You are correct, corroboration is the exact word that I was looking for.
Old 29th June 2012, 10:06 AM   #24133
DF96 is offline DF96  England
diyAudio Member

I have no knowledge of AES but I would like to put in a word in favour of peer review, having been on both sides of it. If you have ever been a reviewer you will know how much poor quality work is being done around the world and then submitted for publication. There must be some filtering, and peer review seems to be the best option - publishing on the basis of money or reputation would surely lead to a worse outcome?

If you have ever been an author you will know how reviewers can be picky about inconsequential details, can fail to understand even simple theory, or may simply misunderstand or not like what you are saying. Nevertheless, this is the system we have for learned journals and I can't think of a better system.

Should AES be a learned society or a cosy club for audio designers? That is for others to discuss.
Old 29th June 2012, 05:18 PM   #24134
diyAudio Member

It so happens that Einstein would not have been published, if peer review was not waived by the editor.
Walt Jung was kept from the AES journal for 'trivial' and unbacked up reasons, in his seminal SID paper with two other authors.
Matti Otala was kept out of the AES journal with his original PIM paper. Yet he published in the IEEE without any problem.