Hello from Tennessee

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am not so new around diyAudio as far as reading, but joined more recently when some things were listed for sale that I was interested in. Just noticed a comment somewhere that introducing yourself here was a path to have direct posting privileges.

I've been a broadcast engineer for more than 25 years now. I've built and maintained dozens of radio stations and learned much the hard (best) way. But I've found that its a big difference between maintaining and the making of decisions about designing your own when you start down the DIY path.

I discovered there was a higher quality audio available many years ago when I stumbled upon an electrostatic speaker and was blown away by its sound from such a thin profile. A few years later, with some money in hand I was looking for some of the Carver Amazings after reading reviews of them. Instead I found a dealer with Martin Logan's and came home with a pair of Sequel II's. A couple years later I came into a very early pair of the ML Monolith's that I still have.

I built a hybrid tube line stage with Welborne modules in about 93 or so and used it, the Monolith's driven with a Carver monoblock pair then for about the next dozen years or so.

But upon moving to Tennessee, I stumbled into a group of guys doing a lot of DIY, mostly tubes, and a whole new world opened up. I had an opportunity to get a pair of EV Sentry 3 speakers and jumped at the chance since their being about a 100db effecient, I could then use tube power. That was the biggest problem with the stat's, needing big power.