Go Back   Home > Forums > Member Areas > Introductions

Introductions Welcome to the DIYaudio Community. Introduce yourself here so we can get to know you better!

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 17th March 2007, 11:27 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Hello and advice needed

Hello all,

I'm new to DIY audio, and in fact to anything audiophile, really, but I'm planning to put together a small semi-DIY system.

Some background on me; I can't claim to be an an audiophile (yet), my currect setup (since about 1997/8) is Mission 750 LE speakers, Yamaha AX (392?) amp, Cambridge Audio DAC Magic 1, all driven from a computer Sound Blaster Live sdpif output from a Linux PC (CDs ripped with maximum error detection/re-read/correction to lossless FLAC compression). Pretty much mass market stuff, and probably nicer to look at than listen to.
But I've been traveling for work a lot the last couple of years, and have a pair of etymotic ER6 isolating earphones, and my home system sounds, well, woolly, after listering to the clear sound of these.
Given my home system is 10 years old, and I like to tinker, it's time for an upgrade. To cut to the quick, here's roughly what I'm planning:

Speakers: TB871s cyburgs needle, or AudioDigit CS1 ceramic speakers (or make my own similar ones, if there is a suitable design out there), or perhaps Anthony Gallo micro or A'diva.
Amp: Trends Audio TA 10.1 or another tripath amp (eg AudioDigit TA2020, diyaudio Charlize)
DAC: USB DAC, such as Scott Nixon usbdk, or diyaudio Monica2 with USB->spdif module
source: PC or laptop running Linux