pardon me

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello :wave2:

I'm new to the forum. I've been poking this site for weeks now and I just don't know how I could've missed the forum such as this. This site is truely awesome. I've been building DIY speakers for a while and always wondered if I could build amps as well. I am no engineering expert but I built several small DIY circuits to evedrop x-girlfriends and republicans.

Pardon me for skipping stepping stones ahead but in your opinion what would be the best sounding DIY amp on this site so far? :drool: Is it Aleph x or Leach, etc. I understand that it is very subjective matter and quite hard to point out based on this forum alone. I just can't afford $10,000+ or resources to build several DIY amps to compare amps side by side. :yell: I do jazz/classical audio recordings and midi composing so better amp is a good thing. :happy1:

By the way I've always regarded the sleu rates and the damping factors to be the most important (today's modern amps generate low harmonic distortion anyway) measurements to determine the amp characteristics.

Regards

Welcome to the forum. :wave:

I'm not an analogue designer or anything, but my vote for the best amps would have to go to Nelson Pass. I had originally planned on building one of the Zen variations, but now I'm leaning more towards the Aleph-X.

I used to be one of those people who jumped right to the specs when evaluating an amp, but if there is anything I have learned on this forum, it is that the specs only tell half the story, at best. Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but it seems to me that a high damping factor often means a high-feedback design. I'm convinced now that low-feedback class A is the way to go, regardless of the specs.