Introduction and where should my project go (with pic-y goodness!)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Well, I was going to pm a mod to ask about where my project should go, but it seems that I need to get my training wheels off first, so I guess I'll start here, and hopefully get some direction in the process.

I work as a computer tech at Arizona State University, and have been into computers ever since my dad brought home an Apple IIe from work, many many years ago. I'm no stranger to computer DIY/modding, and am working on (planning stages) a project for a music/FLAC/media server/player that I'm going to be building into a console radio that I picked up at the local GoodWill. I have the computer portion of the build well in hand, but ran out of expertise when looking into the audio portion of the project.

Since posts with pictures are ALWAYS better than posts without, here are some pics of the unit:

Here is the front of the unit with the top open. I will be replacing this top with one that opens all the way across the console, instead of having the split.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Here is what the speaker section looks like from the front.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Here is an overall of the back.

Closeup of the left side.

Closeup of the right side.

And here's what's in the shelfy bit on the right side.

On the back side, the section the speakers are on is 15.5" high by 12" wide, but as it is now, the speakers are not separated from the main part of the console. I have about 13" of depth to work with. The current woofer is 8" and the tweeter is 3".