Am I in the right place? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Member Areas > Introductions

Introductions Welcome to the DIYaudio Community. Introduce yourself here so we can get to know you better!

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 5th September 2006, 08:55 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Am I in the right place?

Introductions, it says, so:
I'm not exactly new, more well run in. Vintage, I like that.
I've been playing with audio electronics since valves (tubes) were the only way to get decent quality audio(and transistors had numbers like OC71). I've now been living in (well, I've got a flat otside with my bed and science fiction books in it, but essentially I reside here) in this recording studio for the last twenty-seven years, and previous to that I've been a touring sound engineer, console designer and builder, theatre sound technician, louspeaker test engineer… quite a lot of things in pro audio. I'm now THX certified which is a bit like being locked in an asylum, but without the free meals. When valves and transistors were the answer to audio questions, I was a pretty good Mr. Fixit; the universitality of digits has left me and my 'scope somewhat on the shelf.
I should have some use to somebody here; perhaps ancient keyboards, or ribbon microphones?
Old 5th September 2006, 09:06 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

I'd say you're in the right spot. Welcome. There's lot's of "old school" tubes (valves), class-a circuits as well as newer stuff Class-D LCD projection. All kinds of stuff catches on fire. We all have our favorites
Old 5th September 2006, 10:29 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Send a message via Yahoo to jacco vermeulen
No mate, you're in the wrong place.

But now that you are here, you can hand out some names of good restaurants and audio(parts) stores in Genève.
Old 6th September 2006, 12:00 AM   #4
diyAudio Moderator