New to DIY audio

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all! I am new here... well, I registered a while back and have been lurking in the shadows ever since. I am quite new to the whole hi-fi audio hobby, but have enjoyed it so far. Since it seems that you can get so much more for you money, I want to learn as much about DIY as possibe.

I thought I would purchase a soldering iron.... could someone suggest what beginning tools I would need to get started with a little home work shop dedicated to working on my own audio stuff? Also, what kind of little projects do you suggest I begin with? I have been a plumber all my life, so I have soldered pipes many many times...but I have never soldered anything with an iron... so, I know its another world.

As for me, I am currently going through a mid-life career change...going to college to become a school teacher (got hurt several years back and am disabled). I have eight children, with number nine due to arrive in a little less than a month (another girl, making a grand total of 6 girls and three boys). I also have two beautiful grandchildren! (girls)

I have always enjoyed good audio equipment and the more I get into it the more I want to do. It just seems so interesting and cost effective to learn to do some of these things yourself. So, I am learning and appreciate any help. Are any good site on the web with like A_Z tutorials? I have googled and come up with allot, but was wondering if there are any that people here would recommend? One thing that I have learned is that the terminology used is complex... for those of us who are green, it almost seems overwhelming.

I am thankful for a good place to learn and ask questions!

Welcome to the forum!