problem - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Member Areas > Introductions

Introductions Welcome to the DIYaudio Community. Introduce yourself here so we can get to know you better!

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th September 2005, 11:00 PM   #1
Ricky is offline Ricky  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default problem

Hi guys. My name is Ricky. I am an acoustic engineer but I have decided to branch out in to electronics.

My problem is this!!!. I have designed and built a valve pre that sounds great into a linear amplifier but I need toproduce 6.6 p.t.p into a class D power amplifier. I know I need a cathode follower but has anyone any ideas how I do this???. The load impedance is 10Kohms. I need a feed at around 500 to 1K. HELP???. Loudspeakers are easy compared with this!.
Old 13th September 2005, 04:27 PM   #2
Speakerholic
diyAudio Moderator

Hi Ricky,

Welcome to the forums.

If you haven't already, I recommend you post this question over in the Tubes or Class D section. You'll probably get a better response there.

Cal

Edit: Thanks leadbelly
Old 13th September 2005, 08:54 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Default Re: problem

Quote:
Originally posted by Ricky
My problem is this!!!. I have designed and built a valve pre that sounds great into a linear amplifier but I need toproduce 6.6 p.t.p into a class D power amplifier. I know I need a cathode follower but has anyone any ideas how I do this???. The load impedance is 10Kohms. I need a feed at around 500 to 1K.
Probably better off in the Tube forum as you are asking about tubes....but I don't really understand your problem. You need to feed a Class D power amp with 6.6V PTP and a 10K load impedance? Just the voltage stage in your tube pre should be able to handle that alone. Why do you need to add a cathode follower to get a lower impedance output?
Old 14th September 2005, 07:29 AM   #4