Greetings from Leicester

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi there,
my name is Ken, and I have been working with electronics for about 35 years ( still blow things up!).
Your site looks very useful, as I recently came across a few Compaq TFT500 mons that are duff cause the backlights are worn out ( older hot cathode bulbs, which of course you can't buy now a days). I hope to have a go at trying to strip one of these down for projection use.
I also came across a pair of Eminence 15" speakers rated at 500W RMS and 800W RMS in a second hand shop for a very reasonable price. I am looking for an interesting enclosure design that will make the most of them.
Cheers Ken;)

Hi Ken,
welcome to the forums!
Or should we call you Budvar? Dangerous nick as we might think you are a binge-drinker.;) ;)
I was only once in Leicester but remember (the 2 hours) well
as we specifically drove there to have a chicken mentara in the Akash Tandoori. A friend of mine said they are not what they used to be but still it was one the best dishes I had.
Ah, almost forgot : you found the right place for all your audio/video-DIY demands so enjoy.
And check the WAF (wife-acceptance-factor) before you build an enclosure for those big woofers.

greets

Hi Joensd and Planet10

Hi Guys,
Thanks for the replies, nice to feel welcome.
I chose the name Budvar, cause was out working in the Chezk Republick doing some train tests. At night we went to the local Night club, as you do, and a round of 5 beers was cheap, I handed over a note worth about £2 and got change!. I think this is where Budweisser originated from, Budvar is stronger and not as sweet .