hello everybody!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi there, my name is Jesse and I am a bit of a project-aholic (for better or worse). I was into car audio some 20 years ago, so i have some hands on experience building enclosures and figuring ohms and wattage and such. I'm a mechanical engineer by trade, so i also (somewhat) enjoy the math in designing enclosures and optimizing things. I've been wanting to upgrade my home theater/music speakers/sub for some time, and it's finally economically feasible to make some decent DIY speakers so here we go...

Existing system is a Yamaha RX-V870 receiver w/ Fisher DS-826 (3 way w/ 12" woofer) for mains, design acoustics (model#?) center channel, Bose 201 for rears, and a Jensen 12" 100ish watt ported powered sub (Pieced together over a long time, hence the lack of any consistency...). I want to upgrade to something with deeper bass (the little Jensen sub struggles at deeper/higher volume stuff, especially in movies), and have somewhat crisper highs as well. The fisher 826s, surprisingly, actually seem to have pretty good mids & bass for speakers that are old and were pretty low end to begin with... Reviews of them are pretty critical, but i actually don't mind the warmer sound they have. But I don't claim to have a golden ear either - whatever hearing I had years ago was dulled by the aforementioned car audio shenanigans back then...

I had joined one of the other audio forums, but realizing that I'd most likely be building my own speaker cabinets led me here, and to much reading!

Jesse

Haha, thanks Pico!

I'd love to go simple someday, with low watt tube amps and some super efficient speakers for music... but not there yet.

For now, how to optimize what I have for music/home theater listening...?
1. The Yamaha receiver stays, its in good shape, has 5.1, and pushes some watts. And it also does stereo well for a solid state amp :)