Aw, Heck

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've been coming here (mostly lurking) long enough, I guess I should step out from the shadows.

Let's start with what I'm not:

I'm not an engineer, a physicist, a mathematician, or any other priestly order of scientist. In my base ignorance and apathy, I am unconcerned with the subtleties resistors or power cords. Though I admire and derive inspiration from many, I do not practice veneration of any one brand, topology, or way of combing hair. I may begin doing that someday, but not yet. Oh, yeah, I'm not rich, either, though I'd like to be.

There's probably other things I am not or don't care for, but I can't think of them now.

What I am:

I am an engineer who, in my freshman year, ran *kablam!* right into the brick wall of calculus and decided to get my English degree instead. Today, I am a writer and magazine editor. In my free time, I fanticise about being an engineer.

Actually, I would describe myself as an intuitive engineer, that is, without a lick of formal training, but I think I can get my mind around stuff anyway.

I admire simplicity and the spirituality of pure function. I am facinated by the impossible challenge of bottleing a slice of musical time and space and then uncorking it at will. Being destitute, I DIY everything I listen to.

I am enthralled by the wealth of knowlege on this forum, and I toast the internet for bringing it to me. I ask alot of questions because I'm excited to learn from y'all.

Since I am neither very knowledgeable nor details oriented, I tend to use the ideas I glean on this forum as jumping-off points, usually to extremes. For example, my current to-do list includes building a low-power amp that can comfortably drive 1/4-1/2 ohm. No real reason, just cuz. And I'd also like to see if I can build a full-range transducer with a 1Kohm voice coil for an OTL amp.