Hi from Canada

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
HI I am a newbie at this hole thing, forums and amplifier building so I will make mistakes for a while. I live just north of Toronto. I am an automotive tech by trade and doing this as a hobby. I am building two of Randy slone's Opti-Mos amplifiers. I have built both modules and speaker protection board and now am going to order my power supply. I will post some pictures when I figure out how, if any one would like to see them?

Here are some pictures of what I have completed so far. I just ordered my power supply(750VA toridal transformer and a low impedence power supply board with 80,000uf from Randy Slone) real nice board I will post pictures as soon as I get it.

Attachments

• dscf0001.jpg
    dscf0001.jpg
    47.8 KB · Views: 818
OPTI-MOS PAT

Did you start to build, or are you undecided? I would like to know about your project.....

My Pass Labs project (Aleph 4 built as mono-blocks) still reguires completion of the cases as they need top covers and face plates. They have been up and running for awhile now. I built it from the service manual schematic taken from PassLabs.com

Your amp looks good. Did you pirate the case from a comercial product?
:Pirate:

By the way Gaucho I am from the bush, where is in the park?

Lethbridge

I am also a Trades Person. I am currently taking my third year of schooling for my electrical apprenticeship.

Gaucho

Pat,

The commercial version dissipates aprox 250W at idle per channel, I cranked the bias so now each channel dissipates about 300W and heatsinks are at 60'C. The heatsinks ran at about 50 'C (if memory serves) before increasing bias.

Are you happy with it?