Jeff the Engineer

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm getting back into audio design, so here is the place to be for advice and feedback.

I'm an electronic engineer. My senior project was a new design for an RIAA Phono Preamp (which will give you an idea just how long ago I was a student).

While I didn't do it for credit, I also designed 3-way speakers using KEF drivers mounted in custom boxes; a transmission line tower for the woofer and a separate box for the mid-range and tweeter. The second box had an angled rear panel so that the sound waves would reflect downward rather than back towards the speaker cone. Additionally, I used automotive undercoating, 1" thick machine felt and Egyptian Long-Fiber Cotton for the sound deadening. Most of the audiophiles liked the design and considered the results better than the KEF speakers in the stores.

Regards,

Jeff

Welcome Jeff. Sounds like you have a well rounded DIY resume!

What project do you have on deck first?

Thank you.

I am currently posting in the Full Range Loudspeaker forum doing prep research for an injection-molded speaker case for a 4" driver (to be selected) that would include a horn driven by the rear side of the speaker's diaphragm. See Injection Molded Speaker Cabinets.

I will also be designing a Class D (maybe Class G) amplifier for it with a quality DSP to improve the response curves (still doing research on DSP ICs).

Jeff

Nice to have you here, Jeff. I think that a few of us would like to see more DSP functions added to DIY preamplifiers, too.