Newb DIYer looking to build some quality sound for myself.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello there,
I am from East Tennessee USA. I am not an experienced sound guy but I am very much into building quality things I cannot afford to buy. I met a fellow on a CNC chat forum that has build some kickass looking tube amps and custom speakers full range style. I am very interested in learning about what is the best designs for the money and what I can build that will make my ears feel like I am sitting in a room that costs a LOT of money LOL. I love a beautiful shape and interesting design. I have been a custom cabinet builder for many years and I hope to use my skills with wood to create something that not only sounds amazing but looks beautiful. I have build CNC machines and custom airguns for competition from scratch etc. I hope to be able to build some monoblock amps and components from parts. The friend I met recommended a 2A3 style tube amp low power setup and some very efficient drivers in a custom enclosure. Sounds good but I have NO idea what it is going to sound like. I may take a trip down to meet him and hear this stuff in person before I spring for some parts. I enjoy a very wide array of music from space music from the likes of Klaus Shultze and Steve Roach, richard burmer etc to heavier harder music like Smashing Pumpkins and Nine inch Nails. I even enjoy some Yanni and Kitaro occasionally. I do enjoy some deep rich bass but it must be solid and not at all muddy. Nothing annoys me more than the kid in the car behind me with the rattling hood and tons of mud coming from everywhere. I like a clean punchy bass but it must be strong. The highs and mids are also very important to me of course but I think my ears are sensitive to bright and tinny upper end. I am not able to afford the crazy high end stuff but I sure would like to think it is possible to build some of it myse