Dutch hello

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello from Culemborg, Holland
After lurking for some time, I now think the time has come to stop hiding :)

After school I joined R&D dept. of a company that built portable calibration equipment. Over the years I moved from electronics to software, and now I'm a freelance software engineer.

My objective is to build a digital jukebox, i'm a little fed up with changing discs all the time.
Currently I think it should consist of 3 parts:
1: transmitter
- datastore (only wav's, currently about 300GB)
- control application that transmits those wav's & exposes a webinterface to select tracks etc.
2: receiver
- processor pcb that receives these wav's and buffers them
- buffered output is then sent to...
3: dac
- based on cs43122 or similar
- balanced & unbalanced outputs
- since I have a sony sacd, pioneer dvd & tascam dat recorder -which all can be improved- the dac should have multiple inputs :)

Peter Vervoorn

Welcome to the forum Peter :)

I am also doing something similar.
My music store is a spare 120GB on my server. It's W2K at present, but I've been playing with BeOS. All files are in WAV format. I don't care for lossy formats.
My first receiver is a Mini ITX PC which I want to eventually network-boot, probably with BeOS or Linux. I want no moving parts ie fans & drives.
I am currently building a NonOS DAC, 44.1 & 48K only.

I'll be interested in your ideas for a receiver...

Hi John,

We have a very similar setup.
My wav's are stored on a w2k server.
The board I'm using is also a mini-itx (the M10000) with 256 MB ram and a 2.5" HDD.
Currently it runs Windows XP.
The 1GHz M10000 should be powerful enough to experiment with interpolation later on.

What I have in mind is a system where you have the server transmitting the data over UDP and the receiver picks this up and uses a big circular buffer (i.e. 16MB) to store the data.