Complete noob from Utah - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Member Areas > Introductions

Introductions Welcome to the DIYaudio Community. Introduce yourself here so we can get to know you better!

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 5th March 2013, 02:12 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Complete noob from Utah

Hi, I joined a couple weeks back searching for information on the JLH 2005 amp and Paul Carmody's OS bookshelf speakers. So far the site has been a wealth of information and I'm already 3 projects deep being a chinese tube preamp, the JLH, and now LazyCat's VSSA.

I'm very excited to learn more about audio,which I've never understood but which I gained an immense appreciation for when I got my first 'real' subjective listening setup consisting of Foobar2000 -> Titanium HD w/ LME49990 -> LittleDot MkII -> Beyerdynamics DT770 Pro 250Ohms. But that was the tip of the iceberg and I began to seek speakers and amps that would give me that full sound and wide soundstage without distinct point sources. This lead me to searching for a budget setup (because poor college student with a condo) and I found myself the owner of a Lepai 2020A+ and a pair of Dayton B-652s. Part of my nature os tweaking everything, so the Lepai was run stock for a solid 5 minutes before I bypassed the input stage with some 2.2uf poly caps, rewired the volume pot, put in new, shielded inductors, redid the zobel network, wired up a 5A PSU etc. etc. The Daytons got their own set of mods too.