long time audio, first time hifi

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Greetings from SoCal!

I'm a former recording engineer now in graduate school for computer science. EE would have been way more fun... As far as audio goes, I'm really only interested in listening to music. Home theater isn't my thing.

My religious beliefs:
  • IC's always sound terrible. Period.
  • Recordings aren't supposed to sound like the musicians sounded in the room. The recording should sound even better.
  • DSP is poison to audio
  • Phase coherency is more important than frequency response
  • Building tube gear with transparency as a goal is missing the point
  • Analog mediums will always sound better than digital mediums, even if they are less accurate.
  • The fewer active components in the signal path the better.

I welcome an explanation for why I'm wrong about any of these. I'm here to learn! I'd also love suggestions for projects to start my collection. A Micro Seiki BL-51 turntable just fell into my lap, and I want to build from there. My vinyl collection is modest, but my girlfriend's is huge! I also have a ton of FLACs on my computer.

I should also mention my music collection is mostly classic rock (lots of prog), album-oriented modern rock, some classical, and a very small amount of hip hop (mostly The Roots), jazz, Jamaican ska, and roots reggae. I'm open to any music with solid musicianship. I am a classical musician myself.

Here's what I'm considering building:
Speakers - speakerdesignworks.com Singularities
Amp - either:
  • Simple SE (expensive, but could be worth it)
  • Aleph 3 (cheaper? but not as fun. probably more accurate though...)
Preamp - Boozehound Labs ??? still looking into this
DAC - looking into this too, probably won't DIY though

I can't wait to hear what you guys think.

You should know better than me : it's your system !