Hello to all from another Dutch guy.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
A few weeks ago I came across this forum and spend most of the evenings since then browsing the posts. This is really fun. How good that such a community exists. The feeling is coming back to play around with diy audio. I posted a few things already, so I feel obliged now to introduce myself to you.

I started building audio stuff allmost 30 years ago (I'm now 44); my fist project being the EKWA power amplifier from Elektor (Elektuur in the Netherlands) in the early seventies. Around 50W per channel and supposed to be high quality. I used it for a long time and ultimately gave it away. Later on I studied electronics and build a PA sound system for a band, I did the mixing for: speaker cabinets, amplifiers, active cross-overs, etc. I finished my study with designing (together with a friend) a high quality power amplifier with no overall feedback, based on the results of an evaluation of distortion sources. It uses an Hawksford error correction scheme around the output. That was really fun to do and the amplifier was amazingly good. At least that was what we thought and we got some support in that. That was in 1983 and we compared the amplifier with a Bryston 2B, a Hafler DH220 and a Stax DA-50M. The Stax and ours were regarded as the best, on Quad ESL63 speakers. Perhaps I will share more about this amplifier later in this forum. At this moment the report is just typed in Dutch and not so easy to share on the web. Part of the report was published in the Dutch magazine Audio & Techniek in the early years of that magazine (1984, '85). The magazine went bankrupt (I think) before the actual schematics were published. Later on they started again with the magazine, but did not continue the report.