diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Introductions (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/introductions/)
-   -   Hello (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/introductions/212824-hello.html)

Rosewind 17th May 2012 08:50 PM

Hello

Hi there.

I am a poetry, computer, hifi and music buff, who owns old and new Naim kit - one powered by a DIY psu.

I want to learn how to build a Buffalo III Dac, som HackerNaps and John Swenson's psu for my SB Touch. In the reverse order of course. I have acquired the tools and all, and am waiting for a nasty cold to leave my middle aged body so I can get on with learning how to solder (almost) like a pro.

I am nearly 50, married with children. I am an upper secondary English teacher and Union rep for my 90+ colleagues. I live in Aarhus, Denmark. I spent a year studying English in the States in 1987-1988 (almost in a former life, it seems).

Best wishes,
Peter

c2cthomas 17th May 2012 09:40 PM

Hello Peter and Welcome to diyAudio!!!! :D:D:D

Here are some links about soldering that you might find helpful.

I was certified to solder to NASA standards and can give you some advice about leaning if you run into any problems or have some questions that are not covered in the links below.

How to Solder
NASA's Radio JOVE Project: How to Solder
Guides

Also - there are quite a number of videos available about soldering on Youtube.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rosewind (Post 3027273)
I am nearly 50

I've been saying that for years now!!!! And I plan on saying it for many more years yet to come!!!! ;)

Regards - Thomas

Pano 17th May 2012 09:41 PM

Welcome!

Yes, the '80s do seem like a former life, don't they?

Cal Weldon 17th May 2012 10:00 PM

Don't listen to those old guys Peter. Young guys like you and me are the future of this place. :D

Welcome to the forums.

c2cthomas 18th May 2012 12:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cal Weldon (Post 3027366)