New guy from the south

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all! I've been lurking here and searching and finally decided to go ahead and join. I'm pretty much a noob to home audio but have been into mobile audio for 10 years. So I have some experience but they are two different animals!

The bug has bit me enough to take on my first project. In my browsing I came across Mark Audio and was really intrigued by his full-range drivers. I went ahead and purchased a pair of Alpair 10.2 drivers and plan on building the Pensil 10.2 cabinets. It should be a great learning experience and the first of many to come! Now all I need are some decent components on a budget as my car audio addiction takes a substantial amount of money! I hope to enjoy it here and learn a lot.

Nick

Joined 2006
Paid Member
Hi Nick - and Welcome to diyAudio!!!! :D:D:D

I 2nd Cal's warning - NOW you have two addictive hobbies that can chew pretty deep into a wallet if you aren't careful!!! :$::$::$:

You should have learned a couple of things chasing car audio nirvana - things like what is worth putting time and money into and other things that are a waste of both. Hopefully that experience will help you with the non mobile audio as well. You have made a great start with your selection of the MA drivers and the pensil cabinets. If you need a little more bass to suit your taste just add a sub or two and you're good to go.

Yeah, I'm hoping it doesn't turn into another addiction! I'm crossing my fingers about my latest additions to my vehicle are my last for a while and I can then focus on a more stable platform as far audio goes, if you know what I mean!