New to audio tube amps

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello I am new to this forum. I previously built a Soldano SLO 100 Clone from scratch and a 4x12 cabinet to go with my guitar rig. Now, I decided that getting into the hi-fi world of tube amps is the next step I want to take. I am no noob to tubes, but I am not an expert either. I do, however, lack the theory that goes behind making a tube amp (I know how tubes work but how switching components changes the sound I am clueless). This leads me to my first project. I've always been a Mcintosh fan in a sense that I can appreciate the amplifier and listen to it at my local store but unfortunately the budget does not allow for that. Can anybody recommend a tube audio amplifier I can first start with?

Than you

Tube amps have the advantages that 1. If they go bad they won't blow up your speaker 2. Lightning hits don't hurt them, at least the kind we have in Indiana, and before that, Kansas. I've lost a couple of power switches and turn-off pop caps is all. Hifi amps are not supposed to distort, so all the "sound" lore that guitar amp people talk about tubes is irrelevant. If you do play them too loud, crossing the clipping threshhold is not painful to hear like a BJT transistor amp.
The base amp I started with, and there are thousands of them, is the Dynakit ST70. Triodeelectronics.com near Chicago sells a clone kit. The disadvantage of the ST70 is it takes a 100 db@1W speaker to blow you out of the room, but my SP2-XP's are 101 db@1W and sound great on tube or transistor. I'm using a disco mixer to drive the St70 right now(op amp based) so a tube preamp is not necessary.