Hey Everyone! A new member humbly says Hello!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone!

I have been watching the forum off and on for about a year and nerved up the courage to join!

My name is John and I am a BSEET (Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering Technology = approx. $10k in education per letter ). I used to be an electrician before I went back to school and got my degree.

I first started playing around with audio in my car back in the 80s (the somewhat embarrassing "booster" days... but they did work and they worked pretty well if you were careful about your selection...). Since graduating EET I have learned A LOT about electronics (especially audio...), and now that I have some $$$ coming in with my new career I have decided to take my training and my own limited ingenuity to hand with some "garage engineering" for fun (because the paying career is truly boooring).

I see from the posts that there is everything from Electrical Engineers to Audio Tinkerers. What a great diversity of opinions and interests! I don't know if I have much to contribute with such a great diversity, but I will do my best. :nod:

Well I won't bore you with more garbage about me... So I guess I will close with: Hello! :)

Oooops...

I guess there's something I forgot when I joined not long ago... The introduction ;)

Heck...People accepted me, and it's even turned into a 30 page booklet I'm about to lay my final touches on.
Nick Whetstone from the UK inspired me to do it (based on a thread I participated in) and it deals with my point of view on a number of subject concerning, amongst others, the DIY newcomer. I expect to have it done as a PDF before the end of this week.