South African student, DIY-lover - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Member Areas > Introductions

Introductions Welcome to the DIYaudio Community. Introduce yourself here so we can get to know you better!

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 20th June 2003, 08:39 AM   #1
PWatts is offline PWatts  South Africa
diyAudio Member

Default South African student, DIY-lover

Hi to all the members. I'm an electronic engineering student in my final year at the University of Stellenbosch, South Africa. Love for high-end audio and d the typical fuds shortage has forced me into the DIY area... as usual way too many parallel projects without the time, money or tools to actually complete most. Presently I'm working on:

1) a very high-end sub/sat system for my PC (completed, just have to finish the sub enclosure)

2) a pair of high-end 3.5way floorstanders using Scan-Speak drivers

3) a 1kW Balanced BJT amplifier using 20x 25A output devices per channel.

4) A fully automated power controller for all my hi-fi & home cinema devices with macro support, sequential switch-on and line regulation

5) A massive subwoofer using a Dayton DVC 12" woofer and a 350W DIY amplifier per voice coil

6) A smaller set of 2-way floorstanders using an 8" Scan-Speak woofer and 1" Seas tweeter

7) A simple, yet quality Delta-Sigma DAC for my PC

8) An ultra-stable clock buffer for a CD-Player