Audio Junkie needs a home - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Member Areas > Introductions

Introductions Welcome to the DIYaudio Community. Introduce yourself here so we can get to know you better!

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th September 2009, 09:24 AM   #1
Abob89 is offline Abob89  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Audio Junkie needs a home

Hey gents,

The name's Aaron. I'm a car audio installer here in SouthWest Washington. I'm joining here to improve my knowledge of our product and... perhaps with time I'd like to learn to repair some of the broken gear we've got coming through our doors now and again. A month or so I was handed an old school Rockford Fosgate Punch 100 a2 with a blown MOSFET (part #BUZ 103 if that means anything to anybody), at some point I'd like to repair that too.

I have been installing for a little over a year now and I realize now that I may be able to install things all day long but I know nothing about what actually goes on inside the amps. I have to say I'm intrigued by the class AB and class D amps that are so common to our industry. It would be interesting to find out about Pulse Width Modulation and all that. I do wish that there was an audio components for total dumb a**es. You know something that was written in layman's terms. If you don't know what Delta-Sigma is then it doesn't mean anything to tell people about it. But I'm sure I'll figure a few things out by lookin' around here.

Thanks a bunch fella's. I hope I'll cya around the forums. ;D
Old 13th September 2009, 02:32 PM   #2
Glowbug is offline Glowbug  United States
diyAudio Member

Welcome

As an installer you could do worse than read http://www.bcae1.com thoroughly. The owner of that site posts here regularly
Old 13th September 2009, 09:30 PM   #3
Speakerholic
diyAudio Moderator

Hi and welcome to the forums.