Found Happiness

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello everyone.

My name is Nima, I am a Iranian born American who is 19 years old. I have always had a passion for DIY anything. I have always had a burning desire in the automotive field which I pursued and now have a project which i have been building for almost three years at this point. I always loved sound quality in automobiles and have been apart of some very high end SQ builds. Well all that changed for me one day when I sort of lost touch with the world of DIY and my passions for audio. I became was dragged into the wrong crowd of people and became a drug addict up until recently. Now I fought back and am back into what I love and I figured why not start doing DIY Hi-Fi to keep myself out of trouble. So here I am, and I am ready to amass as much information as possible. Well I hope I didn't bore any of you but I'm ready to dive in head first and have fun doing it!

I think amps are a nice place to start. A simple chip amp is a quick win project that is good for teaching or refreshing you on the basics. Power supply, signal input, gnd lines and impedances.

After that sources are fun but more comlicated to my feeble mind.

I dont have space for building my own speakers, so I am limited to tweaking here.

I think that you may get loads of different answers to that question!

Heres were I run into a problem. I purchased the set from a friend who managed to destroy the cabinets they were in. I've been having a hard time trying to find the info of just the speakers instead of the whole cabinet. Here is what i found so far:

Technical Info
Model: BM5A

System: two-way active nearfield monitor

Frequency response (+/- 3 dB): 50 Hz - 21 kHz

Max SPL 1m, pair (IEC Short Term): 115 dB peak

Max SPL 2m, 5.1 (IEC Short Term): 116 dB peak

Input level for 85 dB SPL @1m (+4/-10): -16dBu RMS @ 0dB setting