Hi from New Mexico

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Albuquerque

I got my degree at UNM and have lived in Albuquerque for nearly 20 years.

I found myself at DIYAudio after a failed attempt at building a set of bookshelf sized 2-ways. It's my first and only audio project.

Is there anyone out there that happens to know about speakers?;)

Joined 2006
Paid Member
Re: Albuquerque

Minyeko said:
I got my degree at UNM and have lived in Albuquerque for nearly 20 years.

I found myself at DIYAudio after a failed attempt at building a set of bookshelf sized 2-ways. It's my first and only audio project.

Is there anyone out there that happens to know about speakers?;)

Some of the best speaker designers often visit diyAudio - as well as many accomplished DIY speaker builders - so I'm sure that you will be able to get some help here. You might want to spend some time over in the loudspeaker forum looking at some of the ideas there. Zaph Audio has some nice designs http://www.zaphaudio.com/ and Dave (Planet10) is always around just about every day http://www.planet10-hifi.com/

What are your needs as far as speakers go? Size - type of music - budget - etc.?

:cheers:

Speaker needs

I'm hoping to end with >.5 ft^3, ported, passive stereo speakers. I'd like the speakers to be capable of filling a 400 sqft room at 100db with unstrained sound. I'd like to spend under $300. My musical taste varies from 'Clutch' to Beethoven, so I don't think I'd benefit from designing around a specific type of music.

I still have some hope for my 'failed' project. I spent >$300 in an attempt to build the Encore detailed at parts express, but I think the tweeters might be damaged. I've posted the measured response and info about the project in the Loudspeaker forum. Hopefully someone will have helpful ideas about what ahs gone wrong. I, personally, am at a loss.

Joined 2006
Paid Member