Tube Preamp as a Guitar Effect

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have been warned against posting as a nūb in diyaudio forums, but here it goes anyway. I have built my own audio equipment in the past, but this is my first try at designing something. As such, I have little knowledge of designing circuitry and electrical laws. I do know ohm's law, but not much else. I'm capable of figuring out what something does by the schematic, but not why.

I want to make a Tube-based distortion effect pedal to place between the guitar itself, and a non-tube amplifier. I know that tubes are not vibration-friendly, so placing the tube on a stomp-box is probably not a good idea. If the tube and the stomp-box need to be separated, I'll just have to figure that one out. I think I'll use a 12AX7 tube as they seem to be the most readily available at a cheap price (I'm aware that you get what you pay for, but we're not going for pristine sound here).

Websites seem to recommend getting real tube sound by having a tube based preamp as the least-expensive way. As this will be going into an amp afterwards, it doesn't need a tone stack or significant volume increase really.

The proposed design is as such:

Guitar Input -> Volume Pot (my guitar lacks one) -> Tube -> Volume Pot -> Out to Amp

I'm debating how to use the two halves of the valve, and I'm looking for the simplest design possible, to minimise mistakes.

I have basic knowledge of how a tube works, but I don't know how to properly put one in a circuit.

My primary questions are:
  • Do I need an output transformer in this configuration?
  • Can I run this off batteries?
  • What position in the circuit does the "Gain" knob usually occupy?
  • How do I figure out what voltages need to go where, etc.
  • Can I make it glow purple?