fender amp question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
This will probably come off as a really stupid question (so i apologize for wasting anyones time in advance ) but im very new to the world of amps here and a buddy of mine gave me a 1998 Fender Roc Pro 1000 head and there seems to be something wrong with it. the symptoms are like this, the only think wrong is that you you have to turn the volume up all the way in order to hear even the slightest thing. everything powers up no problem. i took it to a local music shop here and had it checked out by someone i thought was somewhat educated in this field, and he told me that its probably not getting enough power and it would probably cost me close to $150 to get it fixed. so i figured i would come to you guys first (since you guys look like you know everything there is to know about amps ). so i did some research and determined it could be a bad power transformer. swapping that out looks like no problem but finding a replacement for it i havent yet been able to. any other suggestions? or anything else i might want to check before replacing the transformer? any advise would be appreciated. thanks in advance!

oh by the way i hope im in the right forum :xeye:

Joined 2003
Paid Member
No stupid questions here. :)

Just to make sure: if there is a standby switch, did you flip it?
Are the tubes glowing? Do the big ones get hot? Careful, if they do they can be very hot when touching them.
Oh, and do you have a schematic or link to it?

/Hugo

Joined 2003
Paid Member
Looks like I was a bit too fast about the tubes. There is indeed only one.
Consequently, there will be no standby switch.
So before I posts other nonsense, I’ll have a look at the schematic. ;)
Can you tackle basic electronics? Like checking fuses, voltages?

/Hugo

Joined 2003
Paid Member