Guitar help please!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Well, I've been playing guitar for almost 6 years now and in the past year I've gotten pretty damn good. Unfourtunatly, the main thing I've mastered is difficult riffs and moderately difficult solos.

I've got an Ibanez GRX20 guitar playing on a Behringer amp. The amp sounds great but the guitar just seems to be lacking the feel of soloing... all solos I play just sound different then what I think it should sound like.
I'm looking into buying a new guitar (Possibly a Gibson SG) and I was mostly wondering if possibly the strings I'm using could be effecting the sound quality of my soloing attempts. Whats a good gauge string for difficult solos?

If this is a foolish question then I gotta apologize. I know alot about guitar considering my dad has played for close to 35 years now and I learn everything from him, but there's still ALOT I need to learn. Help me out guys.
Thanks alot!

Obviously the type of guitar will affect the sound, as will the strings and the amplifier - but if your dad has been playing for 35 years he should be able to advise you?.

From what I've seen, chasing a particular 'sound' is very illusive, mostly it's down to the original artist been a damn good guitarist!. Give a good guitarist any kind of guitar and it will sound brilliant, give a poor guitarist the best guitar in the world and it will sound poor.

Guitar choice depends greatly on your style and type of music, Gibson SG's are very much a rock and heavy metal guitar.

I am a really horrible guitrist but I do know that:

3) High volume in close proximity the guitar.

is really true ... you really need that aucoustic energy feeding back your guitar body to get that sustain and tone ...