pre-amp and tone circuit. Help needed...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi All

New user, first post. I have built the attached circuit, cobbled together from the pre-amp in "The Guitar Handbook" and a tone control from somewhere on the internet.

The pre-amp works fine (if I isolate it), but the tone control kills all the volume and does not really alter the tone at all.

I am very new to this, but I guess the tone circuit does not match up with the pre-amp? Maybe it is designed for a much higher voltage? Not sure, but I do know that there is no problem with the pre-amp, but that the tone control side must need a lot of work.

Do I just need to alter the values on the resistors, pots etc? Does anyone have any suggestions as to what values I should use?

Any suggestions would be appreciated. Even if the suggestion is "just use Brion55's design......"

Cheers

Attachments

• combo pre-amp and tone schematic.gif
    combo pre-amp and tone schematic.gif
    8.1 KB · Views: 327
Joined 2002
Paid Member
First with inverting configuration you don't need the Rin, and a 750 ohm Rin is definitely too small anyway.

See if you need to do anything else, this should fix it. Normally circuits of this type have an AC feedback loop through the control area (using decoupling capacitors) and a separate DC feedback loop, usually in non-inverting configuration, like a standard opamp. But this one should work too, just remove the 750 ohm resistor.

The 1k resistor / 10uF cap / 100k resistor network on the output of the preamp section does short protection / DC isolation / DC ground restore and is not required between the preamp and tone circuit - move it to the output of the tone control section, so that the 1uF cap joins the two sections.