Bass guitar questions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi!

I would like to ask if a bass guitar is more difficult to play than a convencional e-guitar.
Any advices? I'm a total beginner on guitars, but i have an old Century e-guitar gathering dust ( a gift from my childhood - well, when i was around 12) and was thinking on using it.

Thank you

Being a total beginner, bass might be easier I guess.
Fewer strings, and you only play at one string at a time (mostly:D)

I´m not saying that it´s easy to become a good bass player though, it requires a good feeling for rythm and timing.
Practise with a metronome to achieve that.

thank you.

i like to listen to jazz, electropop/pop(New order, pet shop boys, prefab sprout), some electronic (kraftwerk) etc.
i'm not into rock music, but i believe some musics/styles i like are suited for the bass, no?
It's just a vague atempt to increase my self-esteem and feeling well with myself, but managing to be able to do something good.

diyAudio Editor
Joined 2001
Paid Member
I don't know much but I have heard that to play the bass poorly isn't that hard. Otherwise:

it requires a good feeling for rhythm and timing.

If you discover that you have this, you will be loved by other band members. Usually it takes some work ;)

My suggestion is to find someone to give you lessons, that not only keeps you from wasting time, but gives you a structure so that you are forced to practice each week in anticipation of the lesson.
Good luck!

hi Simpleton ...
i m playin bass bout 3 years ...
i never tried to electric guitar , & i can t tell u wich one is easier ...
but i think if u want to be an average bassist , it s maybe easier to play bass than an electric guitar w some hard and high speed solos on it ...