help with peavey 5150 bias adjustment

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello, I have little to no knowledge on tube amplifiers.
My band is scheduled to tour beginning July 8th, and I'd like to adjust the bias in my 5150 to get the plate current up to around 34-35mA...I barely even know what this means. The point is to be able to use JJ Electronics E34L tubes in it, not to mention to get decent distortion out of the amp (not crossover distortion).

How possible is it for me to do this myself? I do not necessarily require adjustable bias, but I do need to alter mine. It can stay fixed once I do so.

Now, I know having no experience makes this that much more daunting...but I'm relatively intelligent and as such could maybe get it together with the right information.

Thanks in advance!!

ok, i know you say about the intelligent thing, and the right info and all, but i am going to say that you should take it to someone who knows what they're doing... ok.

and I'd like to adjust the bias in my 5150 to get the plate current up to around 34-35mA

firstly, where did you get the figure of 34-35mA from???