sound input into iBook G4?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Phew! That piezo thing nearly wore me out! Here's a new project. I got a Mac laptop to use at work -- I'm a teacher -- and I'm all set to try out Garage Band and Sound Studio, but there's no audio input! There's USB, and someone gave me a Macally i-voice to use, which don't appear to review well; I'll know more after I try it. There are a few other products out there in the $40.00 range...

Is anyone recording on an iBook, and what works?
Jonathan

Actually, a device like the iMic is super easy to build. All you need is a Texas Instruments PCM2902, a USB jack, and two 1/8" stereo mini jacks. Power the 2902 from the USB, attach the input to the ADC and the output to the DAC. Voila: your own take on the iMic.

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
Re: iBook sound in...

jkratz said:
Several review sites and the woman tyhat gave me the iVoice agree...the Griffin thing is the way to go. You'd really get mad at me if I asked for a schematic...:D

As posted, it is not that hard, but by the time you even account for your time to source & order the parts you could have paid for an iMic... even if i was building a more elaborate USB/analog device it would be at the top of my list as a prebuilt I/O module/part for my creation.

dave

Ex-Moderator
Joined 2002
I have to agree with P10 here, the iMic is so cheap that it's well worth getting just to have a play around with and keep with your laptop all the time, rather than the bigger and heavier other solutions. Sound quality is pretty good as well. A future project for me will be to buy another, and convert it to balanced xlr input and output.

imic, etc.