Silvertone Chord Organ Restoration

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey everyone!

My friend gave me a Silvertone Organ recently. I cannot seem to figure out which model I have and subsequently cannot locate a schematic for it. I have been building and modding amps for 12 years and used to work for a great company called Sommatone, although now I just dabble for fun.

The amp is super clean. My buddy told me he played it pretty regularly and when I played it the only bad things I could hear were a bit of hum but mostly the volume was super low. I'm only planning on replacing two of the electrolytic caps, one cap that looked like it was in rough shape and popping in a fresh set of tubes. I was surprised to find the microphone was stuffed into some foam. Is there a better way to suspend it? I have to imagine all that foam must muffle the sound a good bit. I'm definitely open to any suggestions anyone may have about any upgrades while I'm in there! I'll also be taking apart the keyboard and blowing it out with air, clean all the contacts. One of the chord keys didn't work so I'm hoping to amend that as well. I can update with progress shots if anyone is interested.

Oh, and I found this comprehensive list of Silvertone Schematics here I just need to know which model is mine!

If you can't tell by the photographs the tube layout is 5Y3GT, 6AQ5A, 12AX7, and what I believe is also a 12AX7 but is unmarked.
Sorry I couldn't figure out how to get the images to display nicely.

bBGEtwb.jpg

jL7tZGE.jpg

Last edited:
Put your ear inside the reed chamber. It is very loud and shrill in there. You WANT to muffle the mike. It was voiced to work that way.

The model number is more likely stamped on the outside of the chassis.

:D I will have to take a listen when I get it back together. There is a number stamped on the chassis: 157.47211