Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Instruments and Amps Everything that makes music, Especially including instrument amps.

Can anybody point me at a suitable schematic? (single ECL86)
Can anybody point me at a suitable schematic? (single ECL86)
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th February 2018, 07:10 PM   #1
walliswizard is offline walliswizard
diyAudio Member

Default Can anybody point me at a suitable schematic? (single ECL86)

Hi all

I'm a sort-of beginner. Not completely, I've built small circuits before, but I've always wanted to build a small valve amp for guitar. I've been through a couple of books on the subject, and have watched plenty of youtube videos. I'm fairly clear on the safety aspects and have a general idea about valve amps and how they work, but as they say... a little knowledge....

Anyway, I've acquired (from my parents) a broken Grundig Tape Recorder from the 60s, which I've scavenged for parts. I know the unit itself was generally functional until all of the belts wore out. It contained three tubes - an ECL86 (Mullard, made in Britain), an EM87 (Mullard "Foreign Made", I think this is a Magic Eye?) and an ECC83 (most of the markings have come off this but I think it was another Mullard, and was Foreign Made). I think the ECC83 is another name for the 12AX7?

Anyway, I'm never going to learn until I've electrocuted myself a bit (!!). With what I have above as a starting point, can somebody suggest a suitable circuit using some or all of those valves? Ideally for the UK 240V world but whatever you come up with I'm sure can be converted.

Thank you.
Old 12th February 2018, 07:56 PM   #2
kodabmx is offline kodabmx  Canada
diyAudio Member