DI Box, Need serious HELP

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello Everyone
First of all I'm not an electronic guy at all! I'm a Drummer in a
headphone band and in dire need of HELP.
I hope I'm in the right place!!
First off, I have a JVC 8 channel mixing board. It has 8 XLR inputs
for the mics and 4 balanced xlr plugins, there are also 4 sets of RCA inputs on this board. Now the problem!
I want to use this board for the submix of my DDrum module and
the manual says to use only unbalanced inputs for the outputs of the module. I guess I could go to Radio shack and buy those
Lo-z to Hi-z transformers but I'm on a limited budget. I would need 8 of those transformers and they cost 16 bucks each. Thats
out of the question!! Now I'm looking at building a DI box to convert the signal.
Does anyone have any diagrams for this or am I asking to do the impossible? I feel that I can buy and build a DI box for alot less money and have exactly what I want for a whole lot less money!
Besides, those transformers look like hell!!
I sure hope that someone can help me and the help would be HIGHLY appreciated.
Thanks ALL Norm

re: DI Box

Right now I am using a Roland TD-7 and a DDRUM4 SE Module
My console which I presume you mean my mixer ( not sure of all the terms yet) is a JVC 2000U. It only has 8 xlr balanced mic inputs and 4 balanced line inputs. As for the gain control, I don't know jack about these things, but there is a control for each channel that is called input level.
The more I get into this thing, the more I'm confused. Must be the drummer in me!
Need all the help I can get.

Hi,

I have some info about ddrum and 2000U. Input module on 2000u can be set in position "line". From JVC archive:
"* selectable ( line,-20, -40, -50, -60, -70dB ) input gain
controls for matching input sensitivity"
and:
"Balanced Mic/Line Inputs
This means the MI-2000U is applicable in a greater variety of