need help with passive volume and tone

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello

I am new to audio electronics as in wiring, been mostly playing instruments. with the odd like for like replacement on guitars. I am building a small travelling combo for a bass guitar. having built the small speaker cabinet I opted to use the 30W amplifier pictured. It will be fitted inside an aluminium case and I am very tight for space.

I want to fit a passive volume and tone at point A in the diagram attatched, to save battery life for the amplifier. I would be grateful of any help ensuring me that I am wiring things correctly. I have room for 3 mini pots and would prefer volume tone and bass, but only using 2 is still an option.
As far as I know the ground on the amplifier PCB (the one in the diagram) should be linked to the back of the pots and the ground from the guitar.
and that is my knowledge so far.

I am also a bit confused over the shut down to ground on the PCB. I had planned just a switch on the DC input+. is the shutdown a signal shutdown ?

The amp will be supplied by a 12-18V battery or DC power supply. I already checked with the company that the amp is ok with 8 Ohm at the output. the wattage of the speakers is for a cleaner tone from the bass. as I have no room for one larger speaker. and I understand each speaker will get half the output.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Attachments

• sure 30w.jpg
    sure 30w.jpg
    14.8 KB · Views: 96
  • wiring schematic 2.bmp
    141.8 KB · Views: 36
Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Welcome to the forum.

Can't tell what the amp chip is from the photo, but it does have an RCA input, which would indicate it wants line level in, somewhere around 1 volt. An passive guitar output is nowhere near that, and generally needs a preamp and/or a high input impedance. Do you have a preamp or booster, or an active pickup?