Beginner questions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I'm studying AC30 schematics (in particular, this one which has less-interesting signal paths removed) for the first time and have a few questions.

1. While the chassis is connected to ground, it seems to me that an internal failure (for example, and I don't know if this is realistic, say V1 melts and the grid and plate fuse together) could cause the i/o jacks to become electrically hot. Is this really safe/normal in modern high voltage circuits? My first thought if I were designing the circuit (good thing I'm not) would be to attach a voltage limiter to each input/output contact.
  2. I would like to understand the long-tail pair at V3 a bit better. I believe for small signals the plate currents can be modeled by this system of equations:
    04IDkho.gif

I can see that i2 is in antiphase with i1, which is in phase with v_in. However, I don't see a particular reason why the AC components of i1 and i2 would have similar magnitude or shape to each other. And the ratio of magnitudes between i1 and i2 seems to depend on mu2. Is this supposed to happen? Am I confused?
  3. If the phase splitter output is as asymmetric as it seems, is there any point at all to matching the output tubes?

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

A anything to anything short is possible, but grid to plate short in the input triode is supremely unlikely. I have never seen it nor heard of it happening in my entire career. That was six decades by the time I retired. Doesn't mean it can't happen, but I won't lose sleep over it.

If you really worry about it, simply put a series cap at the input. Something like a 0.1uf would pass any relevant audio.

I would be a LOT more concerned that some unbuffered effect unit at the input would put a few volts DC on the grid. it wouldn't cause harm, but would mess with the sound.