An obscure question about triodes, impedance, clipping, and gain

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,

I am rather new to design, but I am working on a design for a guitar amp with several unusual features. In my studies, I recently learned that the output impedance of the stage versus the input impedance of the next stage will affect gain. My design is rather unusual so I am following each triode with an audio transformer. I read that if the output impedance of the tube stage matches the impedance of the transformer primary, maximum power is transferred, but voltage gain will be half of what the unloaded voltage gain calculations indicate. Voltage gain increases if there is impedance bridging, and voltage gain reduces further from half if the tube stage output impedance exceeds the xfmr primary impedance. Current is reciprocal to voltage in all this. Ok, got it.

Here is the question. Lets say that B+ is 100 volts and the input voltage on the grid is 10 volts peak to peak max. Ok that means that at a voltage gain of 10, the tube will just begin to clip at max input level, ignoring output impedance issues. Lets say that the gain is set to 15.

OK now match the triode gain stage with the transformer, and make the impedance ratio 1:1. That cuts the voltage gain of the stage down to 7.5, not 15.

Does that kill the clipping? Take that 10v p-p input signal. At 15 gain it clips like hell. At 7.5, no clipping. So, does the tube actually operate at 15 gain and then have that gainy signal attenuated by the xfmr? OR, does the tube actually operate differently because it is influenced by the xfmr, such that it does not generate an internal gain of 15, and so no clipping?

Is this GAIN REDUCTION or GAIN FOLLOWED BY ATTENUATION?

Thanks for your help