Music Man GP-3 Bias

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have this Music Man that I am trying to get the bias correct with a pair of brand new Electro Harmonix 6CA7EH's. I have the bias maxed and I am only getting 17mV and 20mV across the emitter resistors, to make matters worse the emitter resistors measure high, 4R4.......4mA isn't enough, I am looking for at least 10mA I think. The service manual says a minimum of 25mV and a maximum of 55mV across the 3R9 emitter resistors. I am thinking of adding another 1N4005 diode in series so the pot can sweep from 600mV to 1.7mV. I attached a pic of my mod along with the service manual, if anyone can tell me if this won't work or why I shouldn't do it that would be great:D I am no engineer but I think my proposed mod should work to get the current up throught the power tubes, I just don't want to blow anything up lol.

It has the GP-3 board in it.

Thanks

-bird

Attachments

• mmbias.png
    mmbias.png
    220.9 KB · Views: 136
  • 2165-rp_&_2100-rp.pdf
    316 KB · Views: 62
First, how does the amp sound?

Your method would probably expand the adjustment range, but I have never seen a MM amp that needed such modification. These amps run close to class B, so there is very low idle current. COnsider the recommended range of 25mv to 55mv. I will just call that about 30ma as an average. 30ma through 3.9 ohms is only about 7ma of tube current. You are getting only 20ma, or 5ma, not much difference. Even at the top of the range at 55mv, that is still only 14ma of tube current. Or put another way, 20mv is only 20% out of range. Old Fender schematics always had a note that all readings were +/-20%, I liked that.